Institut Africain de la Gouvernance

Accueil > Actualités > Presse > Liberia’s President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has been elected chairperson of (...)

Liberia’s President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has been elected chairperson of the African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM)

She was elected by 30 African leaders whose countries have acceded to be part of the APRM.

APRM allows participating countries to peer review each other on governance structures and it is one of the measures African countries adopted to promote democratic and accountable government.
The Liberian leader was elected during a meeting on the sidelines of the African Union Summit convening in the Ethiopian capital Addis Ababa.
According to a dispatch from Addis Ababa, the Liberian President was elected by popular consensus.

She takes over leadership of the APRM from the Ethiopian Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn, who now chairs the African Union (AU).
The outgoing chairperson of the African Peer Review Panel of Eminent Persons, the body that actually conducts the peer review, former Liberian interim President Amos C. Sawyer, said the election of the Liberian leader as head of the APRM « is very important for Liberia because the APRM is an organisation where countries not only agree to improve their governance process, but also invite other countries to come and see how they are performing. »

Dr Sawyer hailed President Sirleaf’s election as not just an honour to her but to Liberia as well.

“It means that the continent is acknowledging that Liberia’s governance process and record have improved and can serve as a good example for many parts of the continent,” he said.

Dr Sawyer has turned over the chairmanship of the APRM Panel of Eminent Persons to Cameroonian lawyer and president of the African Bar Association, Mr Akere Muna, who is also vice-chairman of Transparency International.
In remarks during a working dinner, President Sirleaf thanked her colleague, Senegalese President Macky Sall, who declined contesting against her. She pledged her personal commitment to the APRM and to support the work of President Sall within the New Economic Partnership for African Development (NEPAD).

APRM is a twin organisation of NEPAD, which is an economic development programme of the African Union. NEPAD believes that it is critical that African development and regional cooperation programmes take place in the context of good economic and political governance.

The APRM is a self-monitoring mechanism. It was established in 2003.
As of August 2012, the 31 countries that had acceded to the mechanism were : Algeria, Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique and Niger.

The others were Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda and Zambia.

Cape Verde, Chad, Equatorial Guinea and Tunisia have expressed interest in joining the APRM.

Publié le 30 mai 2013

Suivez nos tweets Suivez nous sur facebook Google+